.comment-link {margin-left:.6em;}
The Ragged School Blog Deptford

Sunday, January 01, 2006

New Year, new outlook

As much as it pains me, I know the thing most people want to know right now, is what will happen to the site of the demolished Ragged School/Princess Louise Institute. After umming and ahhhing about whether to link to MacDonaldEgan or not I decided to get closure on the issue in order to move forward. We have to accept that the building is now gone, another priceless historic document of Deptfords history vapourized. So here is what will be built on the site complete with its new moniker.......

see this page about it

The lesson we need to learn about such disapearing history comes from the simple observation that areas of historic and cultural importance arent automatically safe. The community around an important building may not be aware of its significance. Without a proactive plan to intrepret local history and ensure appropriate measures to safeguard it, ecomomic forces will consume its irreplaceable resources.


At 7:10 pm, Blogger Digital Art Photography for Dummies said...

I agree, for the past 4 years, I've been running around the world documenting some of this stuff.

At 2:29 am, Blogger james wild said...

Such a shame that a historical piece of Deptford is to be destroyed for this piece of sh*te.

At 2:53 am, Blogger james wild said...

In memory of the Deptford Ragged School (soon to be demolished) here is what the plaque reads on the front of the building.
For those who liked the cultural stuff that went on at the site, then go along to the Deptford Old Seager Distillery where the OAP (Open Arts Platform) has its studios. Although unsuprisingly Mcdonald Egan also own this site and wish to demolish this historic site too.

The Plaque at the school reads:
"Ragged School Union
Shaftesbury Society
Founded 1844
Patrons their Majesties the King and Queen
Sir John Kirk J.P.
Deptford Auxillary
To the glory of God
This stone was laid on Tuesday 9th September 1913
by John Harcourt Chichester
Evelyn Esquire J.P.
Daniel Hines Hon. Treasurer
Edwin Dodd Hon. Secretary


Post a Comment

<< Home